To all you rabid Berners out there – you have already
failed.
I’m sure this must come as a shock to you, but the truth is
always rather shocking because you would have already realized it if you were not
trying so hard to look elsewhere rather than right at it.
So let me break it down to you thusly:
All of you who have heard the grumpy clarion call to arms
that Bernie Sanders has been issuing, and are rising up to join the Bern-army
have already failed.
Most of you were the people in 2007 and 2008 who knocked on
doors and gave money and posted vociferously about the new blood, the saviour
of Washington D.C.. Barack Obama.
That was fine.
You said, we need better people, more honest people, people
not already corrupted by The System {tm} to lead the march into DC and take it
over, and take it back from the people.
And that was fine.
You shouted about wanting and desperately needing Hope and
Change.
And that was fine.
You mobilized in droves, quite impressively, and held
meetings and rallies and donated time and money.
And that was fine.
You ridiculed Sarah Palin again and again, you made John
McCain look like an awkward tennis player going, “now, see here” on a field
full of footballers.
And that was fine.
You helped Barack Obama, the White Knight to some and the
Dark Knight (okay, no, wait, that’s Batman – um, the Black Knight) to others,
become the first Black president elected in the USA, 400 years after your ancestors
kidnapped Africans and forced them into slavery, lynched and beat and abused,
and kept them from buying houses in your neighbourhoods in droves.
And that was fine.
Then all of you, after your celebratory glasses of rose
champagne and Napa Valley Chardonnay and your victory laps in those weird
individual-toe sneakers, and your journey to the Capitol lawn to witness the
inauguration of your Messiah and possibly stopping into an organic smoothie and
gourmet vegan burger place for lunch on the way home, went home.
And that was fine.
But then, when 2009 and 2010 came around, you were still
either too busy congratulating yourselves on a job well done or concentrating
again on your jobs and families as the recession still was not going away, you
stayed home.
And that was NOT fine.
You stayed home and concentrated on yourselves and your
families while the Tea Party rose up and mobilized the anger of the
Conservative idiot base to challenge incumbents in the House.
And that was NOT fine.
You drove your carpools and garaged your SUVs and bought
your brand new Priuses and switched to BPA-free everything, and went totally
organic while the Conservatives seized control of dozens of state senates and unchallenged
legislation seats and redrew districts so that even with a majority of minority
voters (who likely wouldn’t turn out anyway except in a Presidential election
year) the Republicans would still win those positions.
And that was NOT fine.
You altered your diets all the while complaining how
EXPENSIVE produce is and began eating chia seeds and kale and drinking kombucha
while Monsanto continued to lobby Congress and spend tons of money on defeating
GMO-labelling bills in states like California, which would inform consumers
exactly what is in the stuff they are eating.
And that was NOT fine.
While all of the environmentalist groups were begging and
pleading and crying out for help because Big Oil and Big Fracking and Big
Fossil Fuels continued to tear the country apart, setting off dozens of
earthquakes in OKLAHOMA per week when it had, in the history of the existence
of the Earth only experienced one or two every several YEARS, you were, what?
Where were you then? Why weren’t you helping them lobby members of Congress
with Al Gore trying to impress upon them that this global climate change thing
is SERIOUS AS HELL, because even the damned PENTAGON issued a warning that it
was a threat to USA security? You did not jump in and help then.
And that was NOT fine.
You DID NOT turn out in the numbers of 2008 and 2012 in the
years of 2010 and 2014, meaning that President Obama, doing an amazing job
DESPITE all of the Republican obstructionism, had to continue to fight for
every millimeter of progress, every sensible bill, every reasonable law to be
passed, and still lost a lot of the time.
And that was NOT fine.
You allowed the Republican district gerrymandering, the dozens
of Conservative anti-abortion bills, the racist states sanctioned by the Voting
Rights Act suddenly free to pass their racist election and voting laws and
ever-tightening restrictions on just WHO is allowed to vote, and WHEN (as they
removed early voting and weekend voting, and thousands upon thousands of names
from registered voter lists) to go on, practically unchallenged except by the
watchdog groups who are always the ONLY ones to challenge things like that.
And that was NOT fine.
But that’s just you voters who were around and could vote
back in 2008, 2010, 2012, and 2014.
All you political noobz, who have never voted before – you’re
idiots.
You do not know the first thing about how things work and
you think that you know best? How many of you have been following politics for
more than the past 1-6 months? How many of you understand anything about how
things work in Washington outside of the show Veep? How many of you understand
the first thing about foreign policy, and what foreign policy even is, and who
the prime players are and how diplomacy works? You certainly have not seen much
of it before recently because all you know is that we were in war and now we are
kinda not. But do you know why? Do you know who has been out there trying to
get shite done on behalf of the USA?
It has not been Bernie, that is for damned sure.
But let us give you the benefit of the doubt. Everyone is
allowed to cast their vote if they are a qualifying citizen, no matter how
stupid they are – even people who voted for Michele Bachmann in previous local
elections. You want Bernie Sanders now, but will you actually show up a year or
so from now when the 2018 mid-term elections will be held in order to vote
Democrats and other liberals in who will help Sanders get his agenda through?
I doubt it.
You are the SAME PEOPLE who did NOT turn out for the
mid-term elections, and then had the NERVE to whine and bitch and moan about
Obama is not doing enough quickly enough to change stuff. BECAUSE YOU DIDN’T
SUPPORT HIM AFTER YOU ELECTED HIM, YOU COMPLETE MORONS. Because every time you “rise
up” and squeak through some victory, you then retreat to sit on your laurels
and congratulate yourselves that you actually DID something, and you made the
system work for YOU this time.
And then you fucking forget that it is an ONGOING BATTLE.
Consider the fate of the country like an endless civil war.
Even though you went down South and places over there, and you won kinda and
you did some stuff, you have to keep an eye on things lest they revert right
back to the way they were before. People who oppose you are sneaky – people who
want things to stay the way they are or to get back to “the good old days”
NEVER stop seething and chewing their resentment cud. At every chance they get
they will try to yank progress back.
People only change when they are forced to change and this
goes ten times for government.
So all you Bern-ers and democratic socialists and political
revolutionaries – I hope you are ready for a long fight. Because that is what
it takes. That is what it takes to begin, enable, and facilitate ongoing progressive
change. People will be fighting back against you tooth and nail. Are you ready
to support Bernie not only in 2016 but in 2017 for 2018, 2019 for 2020, and so
on? Are you ready to get out and vote in EVERY SINGLE LOCAL ELECTION IN YOUR
AREA from now until whenever to make sure that the revolution is not yanked up
by the nape of its neck like a new puppy and put in a box by the elder
statesmen of the USA?
I do not think you are.
Which is why I am voting for Hillary.
All you people who are mobilizing and trying to rise up and start the political revolution will NOT BE AROUND after Bernie Sanders gets into office. Which means the Republicans will kick liberal arse in the mid-terms, and then Bernie Sanders will be just as impotent and frustrated as he is now. All of you Bern-ers are living fairy dreams, which means that when Republicans gain/retain control all you'll have in the White House is a guy who resents being there because nothing he wants is getting done and he has to listen to annoying Republicans, Conservatives, and yes, Democrats, in his ear all day every day about the million other things that a President has to do and Bernie does not really feel like doing because he only wants to push his agenda and nothing else.
Hillary Clinton is not a flying glitter unicorn, and she has
never pretended to be.
Hillary Clinton is not a naïve optimist, and she has never
pretended to be.
Hillary Clinton is not a democratic socialist, and she has
never pretended to be.
Hillary Clinton is ideologically despised by Republicans and
Conservatives, and she is proud of it.
Hillary Clinton is not the one that Republicans and Conservatives
are helping out and trying to get elected with reverse-psychology Bernie
Sanders ads aimed at gullible Democrats, and everyone knows it. If Bernie
Sanders was the real threat to the Republicans and Conservatives, why aren’t
they attacking HIM instead of Hillary?
Hillary Clinton has been in politics and around DC for
decades, and she knows everyone, and everyone knows her. Bernie Sanders has not
been in the public eye so long, which is why it seems he is “fresher and newer”
than Hillary Clinton. If Bernie had been around as long and so prominently, I
am MORE than sure people would be kinda tired of and soured on him, too. One
can only listen to that grumpy grandpa yelling at you persona for so long
before turning the channel from MSNBC to Friends.
Hillary Clinton has worked with everyone, even people she
has not liked and people with opposing ideologies, to get things done for the
good of the country.
Hillary Clinton is known throughout the world and has forged
relationships with many other countries as Secretary of State, she is respected
and well-liked, and other countries will feel safer with her in office as
someone they know rather than have to restart relationships all over again
because an unknown with no foreign policy or diplomatic experience has taken
office.
I could go on and on, but let me end with this:
Hillary Clinton is a Scorpio. Bernie Sanders is a Virgo.
Anyone who bets on a Virgo over a Scorpio is well beyond
reasoning with and should just be largely ignored.
Hey, that applies to most of you Bern-ers out there, doesn’t
it? Hm, I wonder why…
Wake up and smell the coffee, Bern-ers and Bern-er noobz. If
you start a revolution and abandon it, you are relegated to the level of hell
occupied by people who take other people’s damp laundry out of dryers at laundromats,
Starbucks orderers who substitute soy for dairy and then add whipped cream on
top, and people who demand cheeseless pizza.
And then people who know better, who are supporting Hillary
Clinton because they can see the real world for what it is and know that she
can get stuff done regardless, will have to step in and clean up your mess
anyway.
As usual. As always.
/ rant